LWE Podcast 194: Rolando


By the uncompromising standards of Underground Resistance, Rolando Rocha’s debut EP, The Aztec Mystic, was fairly typical for the label. The title track an up-tempo, driving, bit of sci-fi techno, while the other two little more than modulating percussion tracks. His follow-up release took the form of a collaboration with Mad Mike via their “Aztlan” track for the split UR/430 West 12″ with Octave One. This track made clear the steep hike in Rocha’s production capabilities, perhaps a result of working closely with Mad Mike. His next record, Knights Of The Jaguar EP, went on to sell more than any other UR record before or since, ending up in so many DJs’ record bags it even pricked the attention of Sony, who went ahead and commissioned their own note-for-note replica when UR and Rolando refused to sign over the rights to it. Indeed the track was so popular it spawned a handful of sound alikes, some of them becoming popular in their own right. Next for the Aztec Mystic was a collaborative project with Gerald Mitchell, continuing to explore the dense, Latin rhythmic techno that had made “Jaguar” such a hit. Los Hermanos was a very successful venture for the pair, though eventually Rocha left, also leaving UR and Detroit. Settling in Edinburgh, the producer has for the past five or six years been slowly ushering new musical influences into his work, which has been finding homes on label like Ostgut Ton and Delsin. LWE reached out to Rocha to find out more about his move to Europe and to ask what it’s like making one of the biggest techno tracks of all time (to be posted as soon as he escapes studio lockdown). In the meantime, please enjoy LWE’s 194th exclusive podcast, in which Rolando treated us to an hour long mix of Detroit classics all put together with that special Motor City flair.

Download LWE Podcast 194: Rolando (59:39)

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

01. The Infiltrator, “UR on Mir” [Underground Resistance]
02. Yennek, “Without” [Art of Dance]
03. Random Noise Generator, “Chasing the Wind” [430 West]
04. Carl Craig, “Galaxy” [Fragile]
05. Los Hermanos, “Son Don” [Los Hermanos]
06. Chez Damier, “Untitled” [KMS]
07. Robert Hood, “Fiber” [M-Plant]
08. Tronikhouse, “The Savage and Beyond” [Incognito]
09. Paperclip People, “Jerry Lewis”(Mayday Mix) [Planet E]
10. Jeff Mills, “If (They)” [Purpose Maker]
11. Suburban Knight, “The Warning” [Underground Resistance]
12. Rolando, “Where Were You?” [Delsin]
13. K. Hand, “These Sounds Lead the Way” [Gorsch]
14. UR, “Amazon” (4 Hero Mix) [Underground Resistance]
15. 69, “Rushed” [Planet E]
16. Gary Martin, “Black Forest” [Teknotika]
17. Suburban Knight, “The Art of Stalking” [Transmat]
18. Rolando, “Juu” [R3*]
* denotes tracks which, at the time of publishing, are unreleased

Gordon Mcneish  on February 24, 2014 at 2:46 AM

Wow – this is very, very special. Been a long while since I heard some of this stuff.

bastien  on February 24, 2014 at 1:18 PM

i really enjoyed this set by Rolando. Thanks to him and LWE.

mullo  on February 26, 2014 at 10:24 AM


the mixing is kinda all over the place but the dude is a legend.

tony  on February 28, 2014 at 10:29 AM

Is it my computer or is there no bass in this mix at all??

littlewhiteearbuds  on February 28, 2014 at 10:40 AM

Just you.

Chapa Women's White shoes  on July 27, 2014 at 9:48 AM

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Popular posts in podcast

  • None found